Week 48: Service on Base and The #PRINCEofPEACE

Hi Everyone!!! I had an awesome week this week 🙂

I got to go onto a military base for the first time in my life! I really enjoyed that 🙂 We did some service for Fort Bliss. They had like a anti child abuse fair or something and we volunteered to go help run it. We aren’t allowed to proselyte on base, so going and doing service is great exposure 🙂 We were on exchanges, so Sister Olsen and I spent all day manning blow up balloon games and a bounce house. I got to spend all day playing basketball with kids and watching 2 year olds go down the bounce house slide. The Transmountain South Elders and Ricardo (Obispo Cigarroa’s son) got the short end of the stick and were dealing with older kids (they were manning bigger bounce houses and slides). Apparently, Ricardo got really stressed because the kids were sassy and not listening to him and Elder Rivera had to tackle a kid for some reason. I do not have the details on that, but it sounded like the Elders and Ricardo were refereeing WWE Jr. wrestling matches all day. But for me, it was super fun and the most exciting service project I’ve had to date on my mission. 

Hermana Jackson and I have really been working hard to get the new Easter message, #PRINCEofPEACE, out to everyone in our end of El Paso. We talked to literally EVERYONE this week. At Zone Training, we only got a set amount of cards for the message and we blew through them so fast. It was incredible. We had a lot of doors slammed in our faces, but it was incredible to feel the spirit that talking of Christ brings.

In tandem with this, Hermana Jackson and I have really been working on acting on the first promptings from the Holy Ghost. Elder Rasband, a member of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, gave a talk in General Conference about how when we respond to a first promptings, it is like being a first responder for a natural disaster. Sadly, we haven’t gotten any new investigators yet, but it has felt so awesome to be so trusted by the Lord. I’ve noticed I’ve been receiving more promptings the faster I respond to them. Sometimes I don’t want to go up and talk to people because after almost a year of frequent rejection, I’ve just gotten tired. But, I’m pushing that all aside and just going for it, remembering that it’s not me they are rejecting and it’s not personal. This message of Christ’s peace is important and we have to share it!

Hermana Oliphant

New Mexico Albuquerque Mission
4400 Presidential Dr. NE Ste. E
Albuquerque, NM 87109
USA
Leave a Reply

